The 22nd annual Hendersonville Symphony Orchestra Young Artist Competition will be held on Sunday, February 19, 2017.  Students of voice, piano, or orchestral instruments (woodwind, brass, percussion or string) who qualify by age and residency may apply.  The First Place winner will perform as soloist with the Hendersonville Symphony Orchestra on Saturday, April 29, 2017  under the baton of Music Director, Thomas Joiner for the Nationalistic Fervor program.

With the very generous support of the event sponsor, the LaBorde Eye Group, awards for the  winners include:

First Place: $500.00

Second Place: $300.00

Third Place: $200.00


Application Information: 

Application Deadline: January 20, 2017

Application Materials:

Please send materials to:
Hendersonville Symphony Orchestra
Attn: Young Artist Competition
PO Box 1811
Hendersonville NC 28793

OR complete registration online. Any questions should be directed to

Policies & Eligibility

For complete contest rules, please click here. 

Age of Applicant: Grade Levels 9-12 and not older than 18 years of age at the date of competition.

• Applicants must reside in one of the following WNC counties:

Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison,McDowell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, Transylvania, Yancey

• Instrumentalists must prepare a movement from a standard concerto. If this contains a cadenza, then the cadenza should be prepared.   Also, works for two soloists may be entered.

• Vocalists must prepare an aria from an opera, oratorio, or a song from a song cycle. Also,  works for two soloists may be entered.

• All music must be memorized for the  audition and applicants must provide their own accompanist.

• The top three prizewinners are required to attend the HSO Youth Showcase concert (date TBA) and the Awards Ceremony during the HSO Concert on April 29 to collect their prize.  Required rehearsals with the HSO are Wednesday, April 26 and Friday, April 28 for the First Place winner.

• First place winners from previous HSO Young Artist Competitions are not eligible to apply.

Please contact or 828-697-5884 with any questions.

Past Winnersshutterstock_148137620

2016: Gabriel Turner, Piano

2015: Kiffen Loomis, Piano

2014: Grace Kim, Flute

2013: Ayanno Annis, Piano

2012: Adair Brooks, Violin

2011: Chambers Loomis, Piano

2010: Kyle Decker, Piano

2009: Luke Blackburn, Bassoon

2008: Josianne Bailey, Flute

2007: Drew Pritchard, Tuba